In addition to the Rules of Procedure, the House of Commons may make other rules for limited periods of time. The House of Commons[c] is the lower house of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Like the House of Lords, it meets at the Palace of Westminster in London, England. The House of Commons also has several ministerial committees. The composition of these bodies, like that of the standing committees, reflects the strength of the parties. The Chair of each committee is elected by secret ballot of the entire House during the first session of a Parliament or in the event of a vacancy. The number of smaller committee chairs assigned to each party reflects the strength of the parties, and the parties allocate positions by agreement. The primary task of a ministerial committee is to investigate and inquire into the activities of a particular department. To achieve these objectives, hearings and evidence gathering are permitted. Bills may be referred to ministerial committees, but such a procedure is rarely used. Potentially, the largest committee in the House of Commons is the Committee of the Whole, which, as the name suggests, brings together all members of the House.

A Committee of the Whole meets in the House of Commons, but follows the slightly modified rules of debate. (For example, a Member may make more than one speech on a motion in Committee of the Whole, but not during a normal sitting of the House.) The spokesperson is replaced by the president, vice-president or vice-president. The House decides, in Committee of the Whole, to discuss budget bills and sometimes other laws. Once the division is complete, cashiers forward the results to the president, who then announces them at home. In the event of a tie, the chairman or vice-chairman shall have a casting vote. Traditionally, this decisive vote is used to allow debate to continue when possible, or to avoid a decision without a majority (for example, no to a motion or third reading of a law). Ties are rare: more than 25 years have passed between the last two in July 1993 and April 2019. The House of Commons has 40 members for each vote, including the Speaker and four scrutineers. If fewer than 40 members participated, the division is invalid.

The House of Commons examines ministers of the Crown through Question Time, a daily forty-five-minute period during which Members have the opportunity to ask questions of the Prime Minister and other ministers. Questions should relate to the official activity of the minister who answers to the government, not to his or her activity as a party leader or private member. Members may also question committee chairs about the work of their respective committees. Members of each party are entitled to the number of questions in proportion to the strength of the party faction in the House of Representatives. In addition to questions raised orally during Question Time, Members may also ask written questions. This provisional regulation is a regulation adopted for a specified period, which does not necessarily correspond to the duration of a parliamentary Parliament or a parliamentary session. Once adopted, they may be provisionally extended or possibly made permanent. This type of work is often used to test a new or modified procedure. Bills can be introduced in either House, although important bills usually originate in the House of Commons.

The legislative supremacy of the House of Commons is ensured by Acts of Parliament, which allow certain types of bills to be submitted to the Sovereign for Royal Assent without the consent of the House of Lords. The Lords cannot postpone a money bill (a bill which, according to the Speaker of the House of Commons, relates exclusively to national taxation or public funds) for more than one month. In addition, the Lords cannot delay most other public bills for more than two sessions of Parliament or a calendar year. However, these provisions apply only to public bills originating in the House of Commons. In addition, a bill to extend a term beyond five years must be approved by the House of Lords. The way the House of Commons does its work is governed by rules and practices, that is, procedures.